The Heist Society

With the new year approaching, I decided to pick something fun to read as one of my last books of 2010. The Heist Society by Ally Carter was recommended to me on goodreads.com, my favorite book website.

Tired of her lifelong involvement in her family’s illicit dealings in art thievery, teenager Katarina Bishop enrolls herself in a prestigious boarding school.  After three months living there, unbeknownst to Kat, 16-year-old billionaire Hale arranges for her to get kicked out. He tells Kat that five paintings have been stolen from an important man and that her father is the only suspect. Kat becomes determined to save him by locating the real thief and stealing the paintings back. She composes a mismatched team of experienced teens for the heist to be pulled off before the two-week deadline. The plot thickens when she discovers the paintings are Nazi war spoils.

The ending leaves the reader open to a sequel, as the original thief is unknown. A fanciful, bewildering plot, however it kept me interested along the way. I would love to read more books and hope it becomes a series. I’m off to the Big Easy for the rest of the week, so I will probably read a few more books by the end of the year. Struggling between bringing my Kindle or a stack of books… maybe both?

-Kelly

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

