Civil War Tale

My last post introduced one of my favorite historical fiction authors, and I expressed a little disappointment with one of her latest books  I chose to read. But my past experiences with her wonderful novels brought me back for more when I picked up Girl in Blue .  Now here is the Ann Rinaldi I love! She brought me right back to what I love best about good historical fiction, which is a familiar plot taken to another level by the creative writing process.

As a self-professed American history nerd and a middle school social studies teacher, I have a confession. I really dislike the Civil War era. And by dislike I mean HATE. It could be that I shudder hearing the southern accent in my head. Or it could be that I envision a lot of heat and dirt in Georgia. Or, maybe it’s my tiny prejudice against (or ignorance about) southern people.  However my love for women’s history trumps my inherent dislike of the Civil War. This book was awesome because it chronicles the life of a 16 year old Michigan girl who masquerades as a Union soldier and then becomes a Pinkerton spy. I don’t want to give too much away, so just know that this book not only has a historical backdrop but it also has elements of incredible excitement, fear, and a teensy bit of romance.

In other news, I currently have five books checked out from the library and one in transit. I am curious to see how this plays out. I have a well documented habit of checking out books, letting them collect dust, and then bringing them back to their home. Hopefully I can reverse this pattern, get through them at a decent pace, and won’t lose interest only to bring them back to their home in the stacks!

-Kelly

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

