Reality TV Stikes Again

Obviously I can’t help myself. When it comes to reality stars writing memoirs, what can I say? It’s a guilty pleasure. So of course, I ordered Sliding Into Home by Kendra Wilkinson and some other guy who is probably the actual writer. I was a fan of the E! show The Girls Next Door and also watch Kendra. I never thought I would like these shows but from the beginning I was hooked. (Who am I kidding, of course I knew I would like them!) I enjoyed seeing the lives of these girls and reading about them. All in all their really not much different from us. Aside from that whole mansion thing. Oh, and the 80 year old boyfriend. And the plastic surgery.

Okay so it’s really easy to make fun of Kendra Wilkinson. But after reading this book I kind of felt like she really is a normal person. Her memoir discusses the implications of growing up without a father, her wild child ways and wayward teenage years, her life at Hugh Hefner’s mansion, and finally what it was like getting married and having a baby all in one year.

This is the epitome of a beach book. It’s a REALLY easy read that goes quickly. Kendra basically tells all, the good and the bad. Some things I was surprised about, and some of my suspicions of The Girl’s Next Door proved to be accurate. I think it could have been longer and some more time explaining certain aspects of the television show and her lifestyle would have been useful. After all she did live there for 5 years and her relationships with Holly and Bridget needed a little more explanation. But all in all it was an interesting overview. If you’re a fan of the show or Kendra then check it out. In other news I believe Holly Madison is also “writing” a book so we’ll have to keep an eye out for that!

-Kelly

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

