Book #40!

It looks like I am going to surpass my 50 book goal sooner than expected. Perhaps I need a new goal for December 31st? I was thinking 75 but that seems too ambitious. It’s certainly possible if I really go for it but I am not quite sure if I want to commit. Maybe next year?

My fortieth book was the second novel in the Isabel Dalhousie series by Alexander McCall Smith. He is my go-to author when I want a quiet, charming, beautifully thoughtful read. Friends, Lovers, Chocolate was no exception. This series may not be wildly entertaining compared to others I have read, and it is in my opinion not nearly as wonderful as my beloved #1 Ladies Detective Agency penned by Smith, but it is good in it’s own right.

Isabel is a philosopher who has the knack for getting involved in other people’s business and analyzing their problems from a philosophical point of view. This time she meets a man who received a heart transplant and claims to be having a vision, or memory, from his donor. He seeks Isabel’s help in finding out if this could be possible, from a intellectual standpoint. What I found most interesting about this novel was Isabel’s growing feelings for her much younger friend, Jamie. As a reader I believe that more focus could have been put into this aspect of the plot, but Smith usually writes things of this nature slowly into his series. I suspect that in his later books the issue will be addressed more at length.

I quite enjoy Smith’s novels, even if they are on the quiet side. His writing is delicate and carefully written with detailed observations about people and life. I will end up reading the rest in this series, as one grows attached to his characters in an unexplainable way.

-Kelly

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

