A Winning Debut Novel

First thing first: I LOVED this book! I am pretty sure I found it on a bestseller list of some sort, probably Amazon. I was on the library waiting list for a while, and then finally received it. After my hospital stay and during my subsequent recovery, I actually stopped reading for a while. I couldn’t really focus on anything except television shows that would make me laugh. However, I forced myself to back into the swing of things last week and have been reading steadily since. Sarah Pekkanen’s The Opposite of  Me was a perfect book to solidify my bounce back into reading. I feel really good when I am excited about a particular book, and this is one of those times.

The back of the book claims that it is “An enchanting debut novel about sisterhood, identity and coming home.” I honestly couldn’t say it better. Lindsey is a 29 year old woman living her life in advertising, an all-consuming job that she believes will take her straight to the top. A series of unfortunate events cause her to lose it all and move back home to Maryland from New York City. The move home forces her to confront her strained relationship with her twin sister Alex who has always been”the pretty one” while Lindsey carried the role of “the smart one.” As the story unfolds we learn that two sisters who lived completely different lives actually have much more in common than they thought. Sounds like a simple story, but there are twists and turns in the plot with a very satisfying ending leaving the reader feeling charmed.

What really spoke to me in this novel is the idea that the roles we are given as children can stick with us through adulthood. We move on in life and grow into our true selves, but a run-in with old friends or a visit home with the family can revert us back into all too familiar territory. I highly recommend this novel; People Magazine gave it 3.5 out of 4 stars. I was hooked from page one and became more enthralled as I kept reading. A definite winning debut novel from this new author!

-Kelly

Leave a comment

Filed under book reviews, women

Leave a Reply

