Botswana Love

I fell in love with the #1 Ladies Detective Agency series by Alexander McCall Smith last summer when I read all ten books at a rapid pace. Summertime allows me to have this luxury, and I totally took advantage of it.

For those who have not had the pleasure of reading any of the books in this delightful series, I will give you a brief synopsis.The setting is the beautiful African country of Botswana, with Mma  (Precious) Ramotswe, Botswana’s one and only lady private detective as the main character. She solves her clients problems, both big and small with wit, cleverness and a certain charm. Mma Ramotswe’s love of Africa, her wisdom and humor, glow through the pages of each novel as she herself shines and sheds her own light on the problems that  bring her clients to her.  The secondary characters are just as fabulous and bring the reader a sense of tenderness and warm-heartedness in each novel.

The Double Comfort Safari Club is #11 and for a huge fan of the series, it didn’t disappoint. This time, the focus was not only on solving the problems of a particular client from America, but it also had a personal aspect, as Mma Ramotswe’s assistant Mma Makutsi is suffering from personal troubles that need resolution. I don’t want to get into too much detail about this particular book, because it’s important to have read the others in the series. (Which you must!)

The Number One Ladies Detective Agency has also been made into an HBO television series and it was extremely exciting for me to see my beloved characters come to life. It is by far my favorite book series and I can’t wait for the next one!  I urge you to read the first few in the series and I guarantee that you too, will fall in love not only with these characters but also Botswana.

You can find a list of the books in this series here.

-Kelly

Leave a comment

Filed under book reviews

Leave a Reply

