A Cupcake Bakery Mystery

I am a big fan of the “dramedy” television shows, my favorites being Monk and Pysch on the USA network. There is something about a playful murder mystery that is vivaciously entertaining.  It’s the perfect combination: suspense and humor wrapped into one package. Jenn McKinlay’s new Cupcake Bakery Mystery series also falls into this category, a light read with a well written murder plot.

In Sprinkle with Murder, Mel and Angie have just opened their dream business, Fairy Tale Cupcakes Bakery. Unbeknownst to them, trouble is just around the corner when their first big client, a famous fashion designer, is found dead with one of their cupcakes in her hand. Mel becomes the prime suspect in the case so the ladies decide to figure out who the real murderer is before their business goes under and Mel is behind bars.

I am now a fan of this author (Yay, new author discovery!) and enjoyed reading the first in this new series. At times it was a little foretelling but definitely a fast, fun read with a not completely predictable ending. I think I am a little biased due to seeing every cleverly written episode of Monk and Psych. My mind immediately begins turning to every possible twist in these types of stories, which is a little bit of a curse.

Nevertheless, I am looking forward to the next in the series, Buttercream Bump Off coming out later this year and Death By the Dozen due out in 2011. After doing a little research I was pleased to find out Jenn McKinlay has written other books in this genre is also working on a new mystery series for library lovers. Obviously I will be picking up the first in that collection!

Bonus: Four delicious cupcake recipes at the end of the book that the author bakes herself.

-Kelly

4 Comments

Filed under book reviews, mystery

4 responses to “A Cupcake Bakery Mystery

  1. Thanks, Kel!!!

    I am excited for this one!! I’m in need of a short, fast, fun read, and the bakery plot line puts the icing on top! Thanks! 🙂

    • Thanks for the lovely review, Kelly. This
      series is so much fun to write. I really am
      having the time of my life! Jenn M

      • Kelly

        Thanks Jenn! I cannot believe you found our little website. That is awesome-we’re famous by association now. Haha! Can’t wait for your next book! -Kelly

  2. Anne

    Nicole I also recommend the Dianne Mott Davidson series if you enjoy stories with cooking plots…as well as murder! 🙂
    -Anne

Leave a Reply

