A Fable About Fulfilling Your Dreams

I stumbled upon this book on the Kindle Bestseller list, due to it being a freebie. I am really glad I did, and now I plan to buy a hard copy.  The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari by Robin Sharma is a story set up to teach the reader to raise their quality of life to a new level using ancient eastern principles. A millionaire lawyer, Julian Mantle, has a heart attack  in the court room and decides to leave his practice. He disappears for three years until one day he shows up in the office of his colleague, John. Julian reveals he has been in India for the past few years learning from elusive sages in the Himalayas. He has learned a great deal about enlightenment and living your life to it’s fullest potential. It’s now his duty to share his knowledge with others.

John is intrigued and invites Julian over that night to his house to hear what Julian has to say. What unfolds that evening is a simple parable, but one that stuck in my mind vividly. I to found out how a garden, lighthouse, sumo wrestler, pink wire cable, stopwatch, roses and a winding path of diamonds are symbols of timeless principles and virtues by which to live your life. Sounds new-agey but the wisdom of the east is anything but new, as it’s thousands of years old. The book has so much common sense , various techniques and great wisdom in it that I was left feeling like I had the essential tools to live my days fuller and happier.

I didn’t realize I was reading a spiritual book until I was enthralled in it. It’s a simple story, even follows a formula, but the bits of information you learn make up for it immensely. A read this in a few nights and was happy to discover 200 extra bits of wisdom in the back of the book. I really recommend this story, whether you are intrigued or apprehensive because there is something in it for everyone to discover.

-Kelly

1 Comment

Filed under book reviews

One response to “A Fable About Fulfilling Your Dreams

  1. Jennifer

    Omigosh! I can’t keep up with your good book finds! Thank goodness for goodreads where I can scour your recently read and add them to my booklist. 🙂

Leave a Reply

