Happiness Is a Choice

A quote taken from the series finale of Monk, I try to repeat those words to myself when I am down or when I want to change my attitude. I could definitely do a better job of it though, which is why I decided to read The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin.

This is a memoir of a woman who does not find herself to be an unhappy person. She has a great family and friends, a good career as a writer… but decided she was not as happy as she should-or could be. What’s a girl to do? Gretchen develops a year-long Happiness Project where each month she focuses on a different aspect of life to improve upon. From marriage to friendship to money to mindfulness each month brought on new challenges and goals to be met.

What I enjoyed about this book is that Gretchen did a heck of a lot of research in the 12 areas she chose to focus on. She read books on the subjects, sought advice from the people around her etc. Not only did this make her goals more attainable it also gave her different perspectives. An inspiration, Gretchen put so much hard work into her Happiness Project that I found the task to be daunting for someone like myself. Do I have the time to focus on myself like this? The answer is yes, I think we all do if we really want to.

Where to begin? Never fear, Gretchen made a website to help people make their own resolutions and personal commandments.  I still don’t know if I am ready to commit to a twelve month project at the moment, but just taking the time to think about how to make small improvements in your daily life is certainly attainable and will have positive results. This book gave me some great information on how to live life with a little more sunshine and gave me the tools to begin my own little project.

Was Gretchen happier by the end of the year? You should read it to find out. 🙂

-Kelly

Leave a comment

Filed under authors, book reviews

Leave a Reply

