Another Gem

One of our readers, Caitlin, recommended this book to me after my post declaring my love for Elinor Lipman’s Then She Found Me. I went to the library and discovered that this author has a number of novels written with many copies on the shelves. I felt like I struck a gold mine! When a library has a large number of copies of a novel this means one thing: it’s a popular book, therefore it’s probably a good one. I like to walk around the library and scan shelves to find new books this way. Try it out sometime and see what you find!

Caitlin’s recommendation was right, My Latest Grievance was a hit. The story takes place in the 70’s at a fictional female college outside Boston, Massachusetts. The main character is Frederica, a teenage girl who has grown up on campus, as her hippie parents are professors and dorm parents. Their lives turn upside down when her father’s first wife, Laura Lee  (who is a complete surprise to Frederica) comes to work at the college. She is unlike Frederica’s mother, an ex-dancer with a vivacious personality.  Needless to say,  it’s not long before she finds herself involved in a campus scandal taking Frederica’s family along for the ride.

The book is charming and hits all the right categories: family dynamics, humor, and drama. It’s very easy to forget that the setting is not in the current time period because the stories involved in the plot are universal.  I will be reading more of Elinor Lipman’s novels in the future!

-Kelly

3 Comments

Filed under authors, book reviews, Relationships

3 responses to “Another Gem

  1. Caitlin

    YEA! I’m so glad you liked it, Kelly! That book cracks me up. It’s my favorite of hers, definitely. If you’re ever on a long car trip and are into books on tape, the narration for this one is fantastic as well.

  2. Caitlin

    Oh, and I forget if I mentioned this before, but she lives in Northampton, so a lot of her books discuss Western Mass. Nothing like nostalgia to contribute to your enjoyment of a book:)

Leave a Reply

