DNF

I just finished my attempt at reading It’s Not That I’m Bitter . . .Or How I Learned to Stop Worrying About Visible Panty Lines and Conquered the World by Gina Barreca.  I say attempt because I only made it through the first 51 pages before I couldn’t take it anymore.  Actually after 24 pages I really wanted to quit but thought I’d give the book a fair shot.  This book is a collection of essays about women coming of age and the issues we face.  Barreca addresses things from the impossibility of finding the perfect bra or bathing suit to finding the perfect guy to…..some other things which didn’t leave enough of an impression on me to remember.  I am not sure if I didn’t enjoy this book because I couldn’t relate to the author, because she just wasn’t funny, or because there was nothing original about what she was saying.  So I took to the internet to see what others were saying.

After doing some research, I feel better because others found themselves struggling to relate with the author, some even commented that this is a book for older women.  Some also said she just wasn’t funny!  Perhaps this too is why I didn’t enjoy it.  Or perhaps it’s because we all know that it’s impossible to find the perfect bathing suit and even guy for that matter, and eventually you just want to yell ‘we get it already.’   This concept has become redundant and I as a reader am over it!  Entertain me with funny stories about your day to day life not about how hard it is to find a perfect bathing suit in TJ Maxx.

I was expecting this book to be as hysterical as Jen Lancaster’s books or Laurie Notaro’s I Love Everybody (and other Atrocious Lies) but it simply wasn’t.  Perhaps I will give this book another go in the future but for now I’m putting it in that dreaded category DNF (Did Not Finish).

-Anne

Next Book: Baking Cakes in Kigali by Gaile Parkin

Leave a comment

Filed under book reviews, Uncategorized, women

Leave a Reply

