A New World of Fantasy

In my life I have had many fantasies.  Fantasy jobs, houses, vacations and boyfriends…but it wasn’t       until my fantasy boyfriend became a reality that I would ever give Fantasy novels a try.  Now…I’m hooked.  I finished my first, Stardust by Neil Gaiman and immediately ordered 5 more from the library.  There is something appealing in the guilty pleasure of escaping into a world where faries are real and swooning boys will do anything to win the hearts of their true loves.  Stardust was a quick read, finished in just a couple of hours.  The next up, however, are longer, and heavier in nature.  Well, some are heavier in nature.  I’m pretty sure my Terry Pratchett stack will be far more humorous than heavy.  Not to worry, I won’t running off to join the church of Scientology or filling my room with crystals anytime soon, but my chick-lit to-read list will certainly be on the back burner for a little while while I spend some time in a new Fantasy.

~Cara

3 Comments

Filed under fantasy, Teen Literature

3 responses to “A New World of Fantasy

  1. Erin Bordeau

    I picked it up because you gave it a good review – and I really did love it! How are you?! Email me!!!

  2. Hey Cara!

    Neil Gaiman is amazing!! Pick up Neverwhere for a good, short fantasy, or American Gods (my favorite of his) is also fantastic!! Good Omens is a bit heavier, but has a brilliant plotline and was co-written with Terry Pratchett….oh, and Coralline (which was released in film last year) is a mature children’s book by Gaiman which is also good. 🙂

  3. Bonnie

    Cara, have you seen the movie? It’s awesome. I think the movie is actually better than the book which isn’t always the case. I have only read one other Gaiman book, “American Gods.” Parts of it I really enjoyed but I found it slow at parts.

Leave a Reply

