Add to My List

In my procrastination from reading the list of books that came along with my new job, I have discovered the “Add to My List” button on my library’s website.  Amazing! Currently,my List is about 20 books long and I can’t wait to get to it!  As for now, I’m reading, “Banker to the Poor Micro-lending and the battle against world poverty,” by Nobel Peace Prize winner Muhammad Yunus.  It is, so far, an easy read, and should prepare me well for the unit I am scheduled to teach on Micro-lending.  What is most interesting is the thought-process it is allowing me to have about my views on Capitalism.  I suppose, in a Capitalist world, my idealism bring about great support for such an idea.  However, my idealism spreads beyond a Capitalist world to a place where micro-lending, or any lending aside from lending your neighbor some sugar, isn’t necessary.  It is pushing me to accept that I cannot change the world, but that there are small ways to make life better for people in the world as we know it.

Cara

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

