The infamous Mr. Darcy

I’m a Sense & Sensibility girl myself, Mr. Ferrars was always more alluring to me than Mr. Darcy. Quite frankly, I question the hype surrounding him. At times the character seems to fit the mold of “if a boy is mean to you that means he likes you!” This notion, us ladies know, usually keeps us running back for more.

However, I did enjoy Pride & Prejudice back when I read it for my high school senior thesis for English class and definitely am a fan of Jane Austen. There has been numerous “fanfiction” books written about her and her novels and I have read a few that are set in contemporary times. Austenland was enjoyable but a little bizarre, and How Jane Austen Ruined My Life was a fast, fun read. There are also some odd interpretations out there that mix her stories with horror: Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters… Not really sure what to think about these books but they get good reviews!

Another version of the fanfiction is the kind where the original story is written from other character’s point of view, of which I received one for Christmas. So my next book is Mr. Darcy’s Diary by Amanda Grange. She has also written from the point of view of Colonel Brandon, Mr. Knightley, Captain Wentworth and Edmund Bertram. Austen fans, you know who those men are. These particular novels also got good reviews, so I am eager to hear what Mr. Darcy has to say for himself. Who knows, maybe I will change my mind about him!

-Kelly

1 Comment

Filed under books, literature, reading, Uncategorized

One response to “The infamous Mr. Darcy

  1. Tiina

    I had a bit of a crush on Captain Wentworth, not Darcy or Ferrars .. And I actually printed out the words he wrote in the letter at the end of Persuasion, and stuck them inside my day planner. Now that’s a bit pathetic even if I do say so myself … :).

    But basically, I just wanted to say I’ve bookmarked your blog, and look forward to the entries :). Good luck!

Leave a Reply

