Book #1

Why begin with a classic many people read in high school? Well recently we both read The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield (highly recommended) and Jane Eyre was referenced frequently throughout the novel. This reminded us that there are a lot of classics we haven’t read that would be worth picking up.  Honestly, the task is a little daunting to me for a few reasons. First, it is a pretty lengthy book and probably not a quick-nor easy- read. Secondly, reading classics can be intimidating. What makes classics, classics? We all know a lot of them are boring or give us flash backs to books we were forced to read in school.  Will this one be worthwhile? Thirdly, I am not quite sure I will enjoy it, and I usually need to have a pretty good idea I will like the book before I start one.

So, we’re jumping in head first here. Tackling a book like Jane Eyre is definitely ambitious for me because I am challenging myself by reading something out of my comfort zone. I am hoping to do a good chunk of reading today, let’s hope for the best!

-Kelly

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

